Thoughts on caffeine

Lifestyle, My thoughts, Tips

IMG_6217 There are a lot of reasons to drink and not to drink caffeinated drinks like coffee and tea. I personally think tea is best out of the two and I’ll write a little about why. I stay away from carbonated and processed drinks and I have for years. I’m happy with water, tea and some coffee. Yes I drink coffee. But I limit it. I don’t drink it for the energy, but because I love the taste. IMG_6230I think that getting my energy from foods and exercise is a healthier solution than “drugging” myself on caffeine. Caffeine will lead to a crash in the end anyway. In short, If i drink coffee I limit it to once or twice a week. IMG_5639 When I drink coffee I like using soy milk, as that works best in my milk steamer. I only use soy milk in my coffee and never otherwise because pure ingredient soy milk is so hard to find. Other types I use in my coffee are almond milk (which makes my coffee sweet and delicious), or oat milk. I like adding in some cinnamon, and if I’m feeling extra cozy I’ll sprinkle on some coconut palm sugar. MmmIMG_6978 Now, over to tea. I don’t think there’s anything bad about tea, as long as it’s pure. A lot of cheap teas have added synthetic flavors (processed bad stuff). Therefore I go for teas with whole ingredients – organic if possible. Then there’s the caffeine. I’m still making up an opinion on how much I should avoid it and haven’t quite reached a conclusion. At the moment, whenever I get the choice I go for herbal teas, rather than normal tea. Herbal teas taste great, do great and won’t give you an energy crash. IMG_6977I recommend pukka herbal teas. They’re pure, organic and have fair trade options. They label teas meant to wake you up in the morning (without caffeine) and ones meant to soothe before bed. The green one in the picture (apple, cinnamon, ginger) tastes d-e-l-i-c-i-o-u-s and it perfect for your winter cravings. ‘Morning time’ is great if you need a little energy lift, and the detox tea I am currently testing. Just to mention it, I don’t believe in detox teas that are marketed as skinny fixes. Buy normal herbal teas, which are way cheaper anyway, and drink them to feel good – not to fix your problems. There are no shortcuts when it comes to health.  IMG_5006I hope you found this helpful!

Helene Christine

Leave a Reply

